Minutes of the meeting of the International Organizing Committee of the International Young Physicists' Tournament

Bratislava, 8th July 2006

Present

representatives of the following countries: Australia, Austria, Belarus, Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Kenya, Korea, Mexico, New Zealand, Poland, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, The Netherlands, Ukraine, United Kingdom, USA and Nigeria.

- Information about the Nigerian team (GunnarTibell):
 the Nigerian team came only after the first PF. The EC decided to give the team
 a possibility to take part as Reporter (Opponent) in additional stages of the 4th and 5th PFs.
- 2. Statutes of the International Young Physicists' Tournament.
- 2a. Gunnar Tibell informed about the *legal site* of the IYPT.
- 2b. A proposal to change § 2. Type of Organization by adding the word "apolitical" (the proposed wording: "IYPT is a worldwide, international, apolitical organization of members, who share the aims of the Organization") was agreed. According to the proposal of Hugh Haskell (USA) more detailed recommendations for Local Organizing Committees should be prepared in a written form.
- 3. Elections. The four year term elapses for the President, Secretary General and elected members of the Executive Committee (not for the Treasurer) this year. An election committee of three members Alan Allinson, Myeunghoi Kwon and Wolfgang Pils was formed in order to propose candidates for the elections.
- 4. A provisional list of the future IYPT venues presented by Andrzej Nadolny: 2007 Korea, 2008 Croatia, 2009 Brazil, 2010 Bulgaria, 2011 Indonesia, 2012 Russia.
- 5. Problems for the IYPT 2007. The pre-selected problems will be discussed at the next IOC meeting on 12th July.
- 6 A proposal of Martin Plesch that the chairman of the Jury during the Final PF should not grade the teams was accepted.

Secretary General of the IYPT

President of the IYPT

Dr. Andrzej Nadolny

Prof. Gunnar Tibell