Minutes of the meeting of the Executive Committee of the International Young Physicists' Tournament

Brisbane, 29th June 2004

Participants:

Gunnar Tibell – President, Andrzej Nadolny – Secretary General, Rudolf Lehn, Valentin Lobyshev, Sven Ljungfelt, Thomas Jung, Alexander Urban – by invitation, Alfredo Mastrocola – by invitation.

The meeting has been devoted mainly to the organizational and financial problems of the IYPT.

It has been agreed that an annual contribution of the members (participating countries) will be needed. This contribution should be helpful if not necessary in order to raise funds (in countries like Switzerland this is a formal requirement, that must be fulfilled by registered organizations like IYPT).

Guidelines concerning how to spend the money should be prepared and accepted by the IOC. Alfredo Mastrocola has been proposed as a candidate for the Treasurer of the IYPT and he accepted this proposal.

In order to register the IYPT (with the European Physical Society, Mulhouse, France), the IOC should authorize Gunnar Tibell to make minor changes in the IYPT Statutes, if necessary.

It has also been suggested that a simultaneous display on two screens should be available for the Reporter and the Opponent during the future IYPTs, e.g. data projector for the Reporter, overhead projector for the Opponent, depending on availability.

Secretary General of the IYPT

President of the IYPT

Dr. Andrzej Nadolny

Prof. Gunnar Tibell