

International Organizing Committee Young Physicists' Tournament



Annual IOC meeting Hotel Medena, Trogir, Croatia

Minutes May 28th, May 29th

IOC delegates present from countries:

Sweden, Slovakia, Switzerland, Germany, China, Austria, Korea, Croatia, Australia, Belarus, Bulgaria, Indonesia, New Zeeland, Czech Republic, Poland, The Netherlands, Ukraine, United Kingdom, USA, Georgia, Finland, Iran Additional ex-officio members:

Gunnar Tibell, Martin Plesch, Alfredo Mastrocola

- 1. In the Statutes should be clearly stated that there are three ex-officio members of IOC President, Secretary General and Treasurer. According to the article 6.1 of the Statutes there could be other three members coopted.
- 2. Tengiz Bibilashvili asked to discuss the suggested change of number of problems to 12 before the selection procedure. This idea was not supported by IOC members.
- 3. The report of the treasurer (Presented by Alfredo Mastrocola) and the auditors (presented by Paul Haines) was approved, as well as the budget for the next year (see attachment).
- 4. Chair of the election committee Paul Haines presented the candidates for President. Alan Allinson was elected by 18 votes, Valentin Lobyshev got 4 votes.
- 5. Chair of the election committee Paul Haines presented the candidates for the treasurer. John Balcombe was elected by 14 votes, Brigitte Pagana-Hammer got 7 votes.
 - a. As John Balcombe will not be able to act as an auditor anymore, Kreso Zadro was elected as new auditor by acclamation.
- 6. 17 problems for IYPT 2009 were selected (see attachment).
- 7. ChuanYong Li presented the information about IYPT 2009 in Tianjin, Nankai University, China. Preliminary dates are 10/7/2009 till 19/7/2009, to be coordinated with Olympiads. Registration fee will be 750 EUR per team, 700 EUR per visitor/observer.

- 8. ChuanYong Li also invited the EC to hold its meeting during the International Academic Conference of Physics Education (17th November till 22nd November 2008).
- 9. For IYPT 2010 there was a discussion about possible candidates Bulgaria, New Zeeland and UK. Preliminary expression of interest should be prepared during June 2008 and formal expression of interest not later than in September 2008.
- 10. IYPT 2011 was confirmed for Indonesia.
- 11. Iran was interested to organize IYPT in 2012 or later.
- 12. IOC members decided to introduce a new position within IYPT the Honorary President. Gunnar Tibell was elected for this position.
- 13. EC will collect suggestions for changes of Statutes during some time (e.g. two years) and then prepare a major change of the Statutes. It has no sense to register new version of Statutes every year unless there is a major change urgently needed.
- 14. Minor changes in regulations were approved by a qualified majority (see new version in attachment). Number of problems 17 was fixed in the Regulations (14/19 votes) whereas the number of possible rejections without penalization was not changed. Prizes for teams were supplemented by medals and the number of bronze medals was fixed for 50% of all participating teams (19/19 votes).
- 15. Time for review was changed to 4 minutes (10/15 votes).
- 16. IOC delegate from USA informed that under these conditions the team from USA will most probably not participate in the future IYPTs.
- 17. Change of Regulations in the Article II (Problems of IYPT) will be discussed during the next IOC meeting as one of the first issues.
- 18. Suggestions of changes in the Statutes, Regulations, grading forms and guidelines should be sent to the Secretary General till the end of October 2008.
- 19. EC is entitled to select the webmaster of the domain, bounded by the limit of 1000 EUR per year + 500 EUR per year for hosting. Offers should be sent to the Secretary General till the end of September 2008.

During the IOC meeting, some of the IOC members left. At the end of the meeting only 15 out of 25 ordinary members were present.

Prepared by Martin Plesch (points 1 to 14) and František Kundracik (15 to 19).

Approved by Gunnar Tibell (points 1 to 11), Alan Allinson (12 to 14) and Martin Plesch (15 to 19).