International Organizing Committee

Country Name Local Website IMO since to end of
Australia Alan Allinson 2013 2018
Austria Ulrike Regner 2012 2017
Belarus Igor Timoshchenko 2012 2017
Brazil Márcio Martino 2012 2017
Bulgaria Oleg Yordanov 2016 2021
Canada Sacha Noukhovitch 2016 2021
China Xuewei Cao 2012 2017
Chinese Taipei Yung-Yuan Hsu 2015 2020
Czech Republic Stanislav Panos 2012 2017
Georgia Grigol Peradze 2012 2017
Germany Rainer Reichle 2012 2017
Hungary Mihály Hömöstrei 2012 2017
Iran Dina Izadi 2012 2017
Korea Myeunghoi Kwon 2012 2017
Macao Iat-Neng Chan 2015 2020
New Zealand Gavin Jennings 2012 2017
Nigeria Kingsley Imade 2014 2019
Pakistan Farida Tahir 2016 2021
Poland Leszek Gladczuk 2012 2017
Romania Sandu Golcea 2015 2020
Russia Olga Inisheva 2012 2017
Singapore Theresa Thor 2015 2020
Serbia Aleksandra Aloric 2012 2017
Slovakia Frantisek Kundracik 2012 2017
Sweden Kim Freimann 2014 2019
Switzerland Eric Schertenleib 2012 2017
Thailand Burin Asavapibhop 2012 2017
Ukraine Valery Koleboshyn 2015 2020
United Kingdom John Balcombe 2012 2017
USA Andrei Klishin 2016 2017

Countries with an organization that has applied to become IMO. Either the IOC has not voted on their application yet, the organization has withdrawn their application or the IOC has not voted in favor.

Country Contact Local Website applied for IMO status to end of
France Nicolas Chevalier 2016 2021
Croatia Kreso Zadro 2016 2021
Kenya Andrew Baker 2016 2021

Countries that have sent a team to IYPT recently or have expressed their indent to do so but have not yet applied for IMO status:

Country Contact Local Website
Indonesia Jong Tan
Netherlands Hans Jordens
Serbia Aleksandra Aloric
Slovenia Rok Capuder
Turkey Jeyhun Jabarov
Chile Andrei Klishin

About IMOs: An IYPT Member Organization is a legal entity which is officially recognized by the IYPT to represent the IYPT-related interests of a country. In particular, IMOs determine the team and the IOC representative for their country at their discretion. For the selection of the team, an IMO has to setup an appropriate selection procedure which gives all interested students from the respective country a fair chance to compete for a seat in the country’s team.

IMOs gain their status by vote of the IOC, after a motion of the IMO candidate. If the country in question already has an IOC representative, said representative must approve this motion. Applications for IMO status can only be made by someone who has previously participated in an IYPT either as an observer, team member, team leader, or juror. This condition is fulfilled even if the person in question represented a different country at that time.

An IMO loses its right to send an IOC representative after not sending a team to the IYPT in two subsequent years. Furthermore, in this case other organizations of the country in question may apply for IMO status.

After applying for IMO status, an IMO candidate may nominate a team for the IYPT until the IOC decides about their application at the following IOC meeting.

IMO status is usually granted for a period of 5 years.